Brits still likely to need to quarantine on return from Spain, Greece, Cyprus and Turkey this summer

HOLIDAYS to popular destinations including Spain, Greece, Cyprus and Turkey may still require families to quarantine when returning to the UK.

The government are to announce on April 5 when foreign holidays can go ahead with hopes they can restart from May 17.

A traffic light system is being discussed today which would use a three-colour system, ranking countries on their risk level.

Countries on the "green" list would be able to travel without restrictions such as Covid tests or quarantining, and only require a lateral flow test when returning to the UK.

"Amber" countries may require some restrictions such as negative Covid tests and a short three-day quarantine while "red" countries are likely to face the harshest measures including 10-day quarantines.

New research from The PC Agency, which looked at Covid infections and the vaccine rollout, has found that a number of popular hotspots may be placed into the amber zone.

Spain, Greece and Cyprus would all fall into this category, along with Turkey.

It is likely that while these destinations would be able to avoid a full quarantine, returning travellers will need to isolate for three days as well as have a lateral flow test and negative Covid test.

However, it is "expected" they could go into the green list in the next month if cases drop and the vaccine rollout increases in the countries, according to PC Agency's Paul Charles.

Disappointed families may be able to head to other countries in the EU which may be on the green list.

This includes Portugal, Malta and Gibraltar, all of which have kept cases low and are increasing their vaccine rollout.

Further afield, the UAE, which includes Dubai, and the US may even be on the green list due to their vaccination programme.

Full list of red list travel ban countries

  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Ecuador
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Oman
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • United Arab Emirates (UAE)
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

It is worth noting that that government has not yet confirmed whether the traffic light system will be enforced or what countries will be on it.

There are currently 35 countries on the government's "red list" which bans all travel and requires a 10-day stay at a quarantine hotel.

It is feared that France may be added to the list as the country has gone back into lockdown due to soaring Covid cases.

Portugal and Madeira are the most recent countries to have been removed from the list.

Holidaymakers who want to book a trip abroad should check the terms and conditions to check if they are fully refundable if affected by Covid.

Holidays in the UK, however, are already able to go ahead in parts of the country.

In Wales, self-catered properties reopened over the weekend while England will follow suit on April 12.

Source: Read Full Article